About Us

The Imperial County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is an independent agency responsible for the implementation of the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000. The Commission is comprised of two County Supervisors appointed by the Imperial County Board of Supervisors, two City Council members appointed by the City Select Committee, and one public member appointed by the LAFCO. LAFCO should also include two special district representatives; however, at this time the Imperial County LAFCO does not have special district representation.  

LAFCO is empowered to review, approve or deny boundary changes, city annexations, consolidations, dissolutions, special district formations, incorporations for cities and special districts and to establish local "spheres of influence".  The sphere of influence for each governmental agency is a plan for its future boundary and service area.  LAFCO's function is outlined in Government Code Section 56000 et. seq., known as the Coretese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000.