RESOLUTION (RESOLUTION #2014-01) OF THE LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF THE COUNTY OF IMPERIAL ADOPTING GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 31641.03 IN REFERENCE TO THE IMPERIAL COUNTY EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM (ICERS)

**WHEREAS**, the Imperial County Employees' Retirement System (ICERS) operates under the County Employees Retirement Law of 1937, commonly referred to as "the '37 Act" (Cal. Gov. Code Sections 31450, *et seq*); and

WHEREAS, employees of the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) are members of ICERS and are entitled to all service retirement benefits provided for by the System; and

WHEREAS, section 31641.03 of the Cal. Gov. Code provides that members of ICERS "shall be credited for up to 100 percent of sick leave accumulated as of the date of their retirement, and that sick leave credit shall be in addition to service credit;" and

**WHEREAS**, LAFCO qualifies as a "district" for purposes of Gov. Code section 31641.03; and

WHEREAS, Gov Code section 31641.03 requires that "the governing board of the district provides by resolution for [] application [of Section 31641.03] to such members;" and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of LAFCO passed a motion at their regular meeting of [DATE] to adopt Section 31641.03 of the Government Code; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of LAFCO believes it is in the best interests of LAFCO to adopt said provision.

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the Board of LAFCO declares the following:

- 1. The foregoing recitals are incorporated herein by this reference.
- 2. Each LAFCO employee separating from service on regular, non-disability retirement shall convert one-hundred percent (100%) of all unused sick leave remaining to such employee's credit at the time of retirement to retirement service credit as provided by Government Code Section 31641.03.
- 3. The additional cost to the retirement system shall be borne by LAFCO.
- 4. This resolution shall be effective on the date of its adoption.

<b>PASSED, ADOPTED AND APPROVED</b> this <b>23<sup>rd</sup></b> day of <b>January, 2014</b> by the Local Agency Formation Commission by the following roll call votes:	
AYES:	
NAYS:	
ABSENT:	
	(New Chairman Name), Chairman
	Jurg Heuberger, Executive Officer