Is Imperial LAFCO part of the County?

No, Imperial LAFCO is a state-mandated "independent" agency tasked with administering a section of planning law known as the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000.

Who funds LAFCO?

Imperial LAFCO is funded by Imperial County's 7 cities and the County of Imperial. Government Code requires that the cities as a whole pay half of the budget and the County pays the other half.

Who are the members of LAFCO?

Imperial LAFCO is comprised of 2 County Supervisors appointed by the Imperial County Board of Supervisors, 2 City Council members appointed by the City Select Committee, and 1 public member appointed by LAFCO. Each category also has one alternate.

When and where does the Commission meet?

LAFCO meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of every month unless otherwise posted. Meetings are typically held in the El Centro City Council Chambers located at 1275 Main Street, El Centro, CA. The Commission may hold its meetings at various locations throughout the County, however such meeting shall always be held in a public auditorium to provide ready access, uncluding access to the disabled.

What is a Sphere of Influence?

A Sphere of Influence is an established boundary line adopted by LAFCO to designate the future boundary and service area for a city or special district. It usually reflects a future growth area for a 20 to 25 year period.

What is a Municipal Service Review/Service Area Plan?

A Municipal Service Review (MSR) is a comprehensive study designed to better inform LAFCO, local agencies, and the community about the provision of municipal services. State law requires that MSRs be prepared every 5 years and adopted prior considering any changes to the Sphere of Influence. In Imperial County, we refer to them as Service Area Plans (SAP).