What is LAFCO

The Imperial Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is a local government agency that is independent of the County and the Cities.  Part of our duties include overseeing boundary changes (i.e. annexations, detachments, incorporations, extension of services, etc.) between the County, the cities, and special districts.  There is one LAFCO for every County in California.  The Imperial LAFCO consists of 5 members: 2 County Supervisors to represent the County of Imperial, 2 City Council members to represent the 7 cities in Imperial County, and 1 public member to represent the public in Imperial County. 


LAFCO's Primary Objectives

Preserve Open Space

LAFCO must consider the effect that any proposal will produce on existing lands. By guiding development toward vacant urban land and away from agricultural preserves, LAFCO assists with the preservation of our valuable resources.

Discourage Urban Sprawl

Urban sprawl can best be described as irregular and disorganized growth occuring without apparent design or plan. This pattern of development is characterized by the inefficient delivery of urban services (police, fire, water, and sanitation) and the unnecessary loss of agricultural land. By discouraging sprawl, LAFCO limits the misuse of land resources and promotes a more efficient system of local governmental agencies.

Public Involvement

Citizens are welcome and encouraged to attend regular LAFCO meeting and state their views during public hearings on proposals before the Commission. In addition, the meetings provide an excellent opportunity for citizens to familiarize themselves with the growth, development, and have independent special district representation on the Commission, thereby expanding to seven members.